The healthcare industry is constantly progressing and changing. With that, the opportunities as a nurse are also ever-changing, providing nurses with the ability to focus on different areas of health. In order for a nurse to work within a particular part of the healthcare industry, they must first complete the level of education that provides them with all of the knowledge that they need to know to thrive in that area. 

In today’s blog post, we are going to touch on some of the most common certifications that nurses are getting these days. Whether you’re interested in which areas of the healthcare industry are currently popular or simply wanting to learn more about the opportunities, we’ve got you covered. Let’s get started. 

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)

Working with anesthesia requires an incredible amount of education. This particular certification provides nurses with the ability to administer anesthesia for surgeries. Given that this is an area with quite a bit of risk, any nurse that is pursuing a CRNA must first earn a master’s degree in some form of nurse anesthesia program. These programs must be accredited by the Council on Accreditation for them to apply towards a CRNA. 

In order for nurses to pursue their CRNA, they must have a valid nursing license. They must also have acquired a master from a nurse anesthesia program (as we mentioned earlier), a year of experience working in critical care, and that’s just to qualify for the CRNA test. While the work put in can be overwhelming, this is a professional that most people find to be extremely rewarding. 

AIDs Certified Registered Nurse (ACRN)

If you are someone passionate about helping individuals with AIDS, choosing to pursue a career as an Aids Certified Registered Nurse might be something worth considering. This particular certification requires a minimum of two years of clinical experience working in HIV/AIDS nursing. Once a nurse has at least two years of experience in this area, they can apply to take the test. With over 250 multiple-choice questions, the ACRN exam requires nurses to answer correctly on AIDS topics, including but not limited to ethical, legality, prevention, pathophysiology, and more. Once a nurse has become an ACRN, they are required to retake the exam every four years. 

Certified Pediatric Nurse (CPN)

Children are easily one of the areas of nursing that people are eager to get into. For a nurse to earn the CPN credential, they must first have a degree — whether it’s an associate, bachelor’s or master’s degree makes no difference. Nurses pursuing this path will also need to have at least 1,800 hours of pediatric clinical hours completed within the last two years. If there have been breaks of time between nursing positions, there need to be no less than 3,000 hours of pediatric experience within the previous five years. 

As with every certification, becoming a CPN requires nurses to complete a 175 multiple-question exam that covers some of the most essential pieces of information CPNs will need to do. While challenging to acquire so many hours of clinicals, this is an area of nursing that can be very rewarding. 

Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP-BC)

The last certification that we’re going to talk about is, without a doubt, one of the most common certifications that nurses pursue. The family nurse practitioner certification is offered through the National Commission for Certifying Agencies and Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification. The certification, while one that many nurses hope to pursue, is incredibly challenging because of the wide range of skills and knowledge that it requires nurses to display. 

To become a FNP-BC, nurses must have a master’s, postgraduate, or doctoral degree in nursing from an accredited college. Aside from that, they will need 500 hours of clinicals that have been supervised by a faculty member. These need to be met before a nurse can take the test that asks nurses to display their knowledge on illnesses, diagnosis, patient care, and, most importantly, administering proper care. 

With as many topics that are covered, it’s no surprise that it takes most nurses roughly three hours to complete the exam. Once this certificate has been achieved, it is good for five years. At five years time, nurses are required to renew their certification to maintain their license; without doing so, they could face serious legal problems.

Join the Team at Wilson Care

Whether you’re currently acquiring experience as a CNA, are starting your career as a nurse, or simply love being able to provide the elderly with quality care, Wilson Care would love for you to join our team. As a group of passionate individuals ready to provide the very best care to our patients, we are always looking for like-minded nurses and CNAs to join our team. Take a moment and browse the current career opportunities available. Feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions regarding openings or positions — we would be more than happy to help.